Versatile and functional EFI for B650 AM5 motherboard (MSI, ASUS, NZXT), and it may work with X670

Deleted member 23555

Member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2024
Messages
31
.
 
Last edited:

Edhawk

Guru
Guru
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
2,413
Don’t forget that AMD Navi cards need the agdpmod=pikera boot argument in the config.plist, to prevent the Black Screen issue.
 

Edhawk

Guru
Guru
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
2,413
Can you explain a little about AMD "Navi"? Or post a link, please.
AMD Navi 10 and Navi 21/22 & 23 cards are the AMD 5000-Series and AMD 6000-Series discrete GPUs respectively.

The supported cards from these two series require the 'agdpmod=pikera' boot argument to prevent them leaving the user staring at a Black Screen, when they should be arriving on the Login screen, when using WhateverGreen.kext.

WhateverGreen.kext only supports Navi 10, Navi 21 & 23 cards.

Using NootRX.kext with a Navi 21/22 or 23 card doesn't require this boot argument.

See this Dortania GPU Buyers Guide (AMD section) for details. It assumes you are using WhateverGreen.kext.

# AMD GPU - NAVI cards
 
Last edited:

Edhawk

Guru
Guru
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
2,413
Have you mapped your USB ports?

Having a misconfigured or not having a custom USB ports configuration (kext) at all, is a common cause for Sleep/Wake/Reboot and Bluetooth issues in macOS.

See this link for USB mapping in macOS.


Follow the manual pathway in the guide.
 

Edhawk

Guru
Guru
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
2,413

origgtv

New member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2024
Messages
4
Hi,
I just downloaded the Sonoma 8 core EFI
It’s working. I have a question: is there any way to make the Mac run faster? And is there any way to use it without connecting the usb flash drive? From what I checked it’s using 8 MB of display memory. From what I checked it can use 128, how do I change it?

Thanks
 

origgtv

New member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2024
Messages
4

Edhawk

Guru
Guru
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
2,413
Your RTX 4060 will never work in macOS. MacOS is a dead end for all Nvidia RTX GPUs. You need to disable the RTX card for macOS to use the CPU's IGPU. A custom SSDT-DISABLE-GPU.aml table or using the -wegnoegpu boot argument would be required. The SSDT is the better option, but the boot argument can be used in the short term.

The Ryzen 7 7800X3D IGPU will require NootedRed.kext, if the Radeon Graphics are supported by this kext. Do not use WhateverGreen.kext or add any DeviceProperties to your config.plist if you use NootedRed.kext. As both will clash with NootedRed and possibly cause a kernel panic.
 

origgtv

New member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2024
Messages
4
Your RTX 4060 will never work in macOS. MacOS is a dead end for all Nvidia RTX GPUs. You need to disable the RTX card for macOS to use the CPU's IGPU. A custom SSDT-DISABLE-GPU.aml table or using the -wegnoegpu boot argument would be required. The SSDT is the better option, but the boot argument can be used in the short term.

The Ryzen 7 7800X3D IGPU will require NootedRed.kext, if the Radeon Graphics are supported by this kext. Do not use WhateverGreen.kext or add any DeviceProperties to your config.plist if you use NootedRed.kext. As both will clash with NootedRed and possibly cause a kernel panic.
Can you please send here the kext?
 

Edhawk

Guru
Guru
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
2,413
NootedRed.kext is attached in the Artifacts zip.

Download the zipped folder
Navigate to the Release folder and extract the zipped files.
NootedRed.kext file should be be found in the 'NootedRed-1.0.0-RELEASE' folder.
Add it to your /EFI/OC/Kexts folder and add a companion entry to your config.plist for the kext.

With regard to your Nvidia GPU, have a read of this guide for disabling the GPU using a custom SSDT.

 

Attachments

  • Artifacts.zip
    1.9 MB · Views: 7

Mac Arthur

Donator
Donator
AMD OS X Member
Joined
May 23, 2023
Messages
102

Edhawk

Guru
Guru
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
2,413
The version I selected is 14.4.1.
This is still the most stable.
No, the most stable release would be Sonoma 14.3.1, i.e. before Apple started messing around with the USB and other devices in 14.4.
 

Edhawk

Guru
Guru
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
2,413
Have you checked the System Settings > Sound tab to make sure the Line-Out option and your speakers are selected as the default audio out option. I assume you have the speakers connected to the Green audio port on the rear IO plate.

MacOS doesn’t always select the speakers by default, it more often selects the DisplayPort or HDMI audio option, connected to the display, as it expects the display to have built in speakers.
 

Edhawk

Guru
Guru
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
2,413
The specifications page for your ASRock 650E PG-ITX WIFI motherboard says it uses the Realtek ALC 1220 audio codec, not the ALC897 codec.


You need to use one of the audio layout-id's for the ALC1220 to get the Line-Out audio and Microphone port working. The screenshot below shows all the layout ID's that have been set to work with the ALC1220 codec.

Screenshot 2024-04-26 at 19.07.53.png
You will need to try each layout-id in your config.plist to see which of these work best for your system. Multiple ID's may work, you need to work out which works the best for your end use.

The easiest way to do this is to use the alcid=xx boot argument in your config.plist. Where xx represents one of the ID's listed above, i.e. alcid=1 or alcid=2 ... alcid=100.

If you have a DeviceProperties entry in your config.plist for the Audio device, remove it, as the alcid=xx boot argument takes precedence over the DeviceProperties entry.

After adding the alcid=1 or 2 or 3 ... etc. boot argument, you need to reboot your system for the new layout-id to take effect.

Before booting in to macOS with the new ID, you need to use the ResetNvram driver from the OC boot screen, so the previous non-working layout-id is removed from NVRAM.

When you get one that works, i.e. enables the line-out and microphone devices you should see them in the following locations:

Screenshot 2024-04-26 at 19.05.39.png System Information > Audio

Screenshot 2024-04-26 at 19.06.16.png System Settings > Sound > Output

Screenshot 2024-04-26 at 19.20.03.png Hackintool > Sound tab


Best of luck with your testing.
 

Edhawk

Guru
Guru
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
2,413
Post a copy of your whole EFI folder, so we can see exactly what you are using.
 

Jamie2021

New member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2024
Messages
1
Thanks for the info.
I used EFI without any changes.
I was able to install Sonoma on my PC.
The install restarted maybe 7 to 9 Times!?
But running good and everyyhing seems to be work.

CPU: Ryzen7 7800x3d
Motherboard: asus tuf gaming b650-plus
gskill trident z5 32gb 6000cl30
rx580 8gb
 
Back
Top Bottom
  AdBlock Detected
Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks some useful and important features of our website. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker.