GenMachine Ren5000

long08

Member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
30
  • You need to disable or remove the WiFi & Bluetooth kexts and set SecureBootModel to ‘Disabled’ not ‘Default’ in your config.plist.
  • Run the Sonoma update.
  • Then revert the changes you made in your config.plist for the Sonoma 14.4.1 upgrade.
  • Make sure you use the latest Intel WiFi and Bluetooth kexts with Sonoma 14.4 or newer.
Advice courtesy of @Edhawk.
Thank you very much, I will try it right now.
 

craighazan

Donator
Donator
Joined
Nov 22, 2021
Messages
392
Thank you very much, I will try it right now.
The general opinion is that Ventura is much more stable than Sonoma when using the NootedRed.kext. When Apple changes stuff in there code it can lead to all sorts of headaches for developers like ChefKiss who do this out of the kindness of their heart.
 

Edhawk

Guru
Guru
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
2,505
What do I need to edit to be able to go to sonoma
Don't!

Get everything up and running correctly on Ventura, before you upgrade to Sonoma. As the latest macOS just introduces more issues, especially for someone new to AMD Hackintosh.
 

craighazan

Donator
Donator
Joined
Nov 22, 2021
Messages
392
Successfully installed macOS Sequoia Beta 2 on my GenMachine. Intel BT, tick, Sound, tick, Wi-Fi, via a Ethernet connected to a Netgear EX3700 Wi-Fi Extender/Access Point.Screenshot 2024-06-28 at 11.55.59 PM.png
 

Edhawk

Guru
Guru
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
2,505
@craighazan as you have a Metal 3 GPU you don't need the revblock=media boot argument.

Screenshot 2024-06-29 at 21.29.12.png
 

craighazan

Donator
Donator
Joined
Nov 22, 2021
Messages
392

craighazan

Donator
Donator
Joined
Nov 22, 2021
Messages
392
I removed the 'revblock=media' boot-arg from my config and my GenMachine didn't burst into flames, phew!. Someone asked my alter ego, SalmonPete on NootedRed discussions to see if Sequoia was lagging in HIDPI scaled resolution, I switched it up to 2K and everything still seems smooth, certainly no system lag.

Screenshot 2024-06-29 at 10.11.37 PM.png
 

craighazan

Donator
Donator
Joined
Nov 22, 2021
Messages
392
What do I need to edit to be able to run macOS Sequoia Beta 2?
Hi long08
I did the following, update these kexts;
  • AppleALCU 1.9.0 > 1.9.1 Link
  • lilu 1.6.7 > 1.6.8 Link
  • RestrictEvents 1.1.3 > 1.1.4 Link
  • VirtualSMC 1.3.2 > 1.3.3 Link
  • NootedRed, [commit e326a5f]
  • BlueToolFixup 2.6.9
  • IntelBluetoothFimware 2.5.0
  • ForgedInvariant Link
For installation of macOS Sequoia I disabled the following kexts. Specifically for NootrdRed which can hang for a long time on igpu in verbose!. I learnt a trick, you can enable NootrdRed after the second restart, that way you wouldn’t have to endure 7MB VRAM enabling it again. Also Bluetooth and Wi-Fi are touch and go at the moment, some have had success using heliport with AirportItlwm
  • Airportitlwm
  • BlueToolFixup
  • IntelBluetoothFirmware
  • NootedRed
  • Changed SecureBoot to Disabled
Hope that helps.
 

long08

Member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
30
Hi long08
I did the following, update these kexts;
  • AppleALCU 1.9.0 > 1.9.1 Link
  • lilu 1.6.7 > 1.6.8 Link
  • RestrictEvents 1.1.3 > 1.1.4 Link
  • VirtualSMC 1.3.2 > 1.3.3 Link
  • NootedRed, [commit e326a5f]
  • BlueToolFixup 2.6.9
  • IntelBluetoothFimware 2.5.0
  • ForgedInvariant Link
For installation of macOS Sequoia I disabled the following kexts. Specifically for NootrdRed which can hang for a long time on igpu in verbose!. I learnt a trick, you can enable NootrdRed after the second restart, that way you wouldn’t have to endure 7MB VRAM enabling it again. Also Bluetooth and Wi-Fi are touch and go at the moment, some have had success using heliport with AirportItlwm
  • Airportitlwm
  • BlueToolFixup
  • IntelBluetoothFirmware
  • NootedRed
  • Changed SecureBoot to Disabled
Hope that helps.
Thank you very much, I installed it successfully.
i have intel 7265 wifi card. i found it not working, i added itlwm.kext, IntelBluetoothFimware 2.5.0, BlueToolFixup 2.6.8
 

craighazan

Donator
Donator
Joined
Nov 22, 2021
Messages
392
Thank you very much, I installed it successfully.
i have intel 7265 wifi card. i found it not working, i added itlwm.kext, IntelBluetoothFimware 2.5.0, BlueToolFixup 2.6.8
No, neither wi-fi or BT are working for me either, I did get BT with Shaneees fix in Beta 1 but it stopped working in 2. Some people have had success getting Wi-Fi working using Itlwm and Heliport but I haven't tried it myself. I'm currently getting internet via Ethernet connected to a Wi-Fi access point.
 

long08

Member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
30
No, neither wi-fi or BT are working for me either, I did get BT with Shaneees fix in Beta 1 but it stopped working in 2. Some people have had success getting Wi-Fi working using Itlwm and Heliport but I haven't tried it myself. I'm currently getting internet via Ethernet connected to a Wi-Fi access point.
BT didn't work, but wifi worked with Itlwm and Heliport
 
Back
Top Bottom
  AdBlock Detected
Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks some useful and important features of our website. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker.