Clover Experimental Patches for 10.13.x, 10.14.x and 10.15.x

Shaneee

The AMD Guy
Staff member
Administrator
Joined
Mar 13, 2020
Messages
2,189
Experimental Patches for Clover booting from all versions of 10.13, 10.14 and 10.15

These patches are for testing only. AMD OS X still recommends you use OpenCore to boot your hackintosh.

No support will be given to a system having issues booting if the issue is related to a bootloader issue. Anything software/kext related will be supported.

These plist files include only the patches. You must make the complete config to boot.

17h patches tested on 10.15.5 using Clover r5118

Enjoy.
 

Attachments

  • clover_patches_15h_16h.plist.zip
    2.8 KB · Views: 140
  • clover_patches_17h.plist.zip
    2.8 KB · Views: 89

barrrrt

Member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
May 19, 2020
Messages
30
Thx for your work.

Do you know if the 3900x processor is supported now? Last time I tried it, it told me that it did expect 48 threads, but found only 24...
 

Shaneee

The AMD Guy
Staff member
Administrator
Joined
Mar 13, 2020
Messages
2,189
Thx for your work.

Do you know if the 3900x processor is supported now? Last time I tried it, it told me that it did expect 48 threads, but found only 24...

With OpenCore yes. Untested with Clover.
 

CoderMac

New member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2020
Messages
2
Thank you. Working is fine for my cpu.
 

Virgo

New member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
May 22, 2020
Messages
15
Kernel panic with AMD 3900x.
 

AntarcticPL

New member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
May 29, 2020
Messages
22
Hi Shaneee, this works on my build (fx8350, AMD Radeon RX580), but bad performance.
Seems as if my graphical card is not supported at full speed and sound hickups (Voodoo).
So, not ideal compared to OC bootloader, but need to do more checks to solve these issues.
 

Trevor30

New member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
18
Thanks for hard work. System is booted, but whole system is slow after booting.
 

Moozuki

Active member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
May 3, 2020
Messages
204
Got it to boot, but as soon as I click on anything the system locks up and have to reboot. Never used clover on AMD so learning as I go!
 

jsl2020

Member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2020
Messages
43
For those 15h_16h AMD CPU users may test my modified clover-config.plist which worked at 10.15.1 to 10.15.6 beta2 except 10.15.4.
 

Attachments

  • config-Working-All Catalina-FX6300.plist
    34.9 KB · Views: 69

Trevor30

New member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
18
Thanks for your work.
My system is still slow. I tried increase the Bus Speed but nothing change, slow.
 

sam298

New member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
15
Working great. Thanks
I couldn't figure out a fix to restart in opencore, but clover reboot works. Everything else same in both bootloaders.
For those who have issues with slow system, this is what I did for my system with 3.6Mhz.
In opencore: Platforminfo - Datahub - ART Freq 3600000000 InitialTSC 3600000000 FSBFreq 100000000 boot args busratio=18 (I edited bios to 18x)
In clover: cpu - Freq 3600 Bus speed 100000 boot args busratio=18 (add nullcpupowermanagement.kext)
 

Trevor30

New member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
18
Working great. Thanks
I couldn't figure out a fix to restart in opencore, but clover reboot works. Everything else same in both bootloaders.
For those who have issues with slow system, this is what I did for my system with 3.6Mhz.
In opencore: Platforminfo - Datahub - ART Freq 3600000000 InitialTSC 3600000000 FSBFreq 100000000 boot args busratio=18 (I edited bios to 18x)
In clover: cpu - Freq 3600 Bus speed 100000 boot args busratio=18 (add nullcpupowermanagement.kext)

I tried everything in opencore and clover nothings change system and or clock is slow. I think the problem is that my processor is old and patches do not fit.
 

jsl2020

Member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2020
Messages
43
Working great. Thanks
I couldn't figure out a fix to restart in opencore, but clover reboot works. Everything else same in both bootloaders.
For those who have issues with slow system, this is what I did for my system with 3.6Mhz.
In opencore: Platforminfo - Datahub - ART Freq 3600000000 InitialTSC 3600000000 FSBFreq 100000000 boot args busratio=18 (I edited bios to 18x)
In clover: cpu - Freq 3600 Bus speed 100000 boot args busratio=18 (add nullcpupowermanagement.kext)
Hi, did you apply Shaneee's or jsl2020's Clover patches for 15h_16h config.plist ? Is it stable and working at 10.15.4 ?
 

sam298

New member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
15
Shaneee’s patches posted in this thread only worked. I updated to 10.15.5 and it worked without a glitch.
I updated to 10.15.6 beta 2. Analog sound worked for a minute and stops working - no sound. Hdmi sound is working fine. Something with latest beta and voodoohda.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

jsl2020

Member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2020
Messages
43
Shaneee’s patches posted in this thread only worked. I updated to 10.15.5 and it worked without a glitch.
I updated to 10.15.6 beta 2. Analog sound worked for a minute and stops working - no sound. Hdmi sound is working fine. Something with latest beta and voodoohda.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thanks for your prompt reply.
I still got KP with Shaneee's patches. Can you share your Clover's config.plist without SN for me ? I hope I can compare it with mine to fix this.
 

Trevor30

New member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
18
For those 15h_16h AMD CPU users may test my modified clover-config.plist which worked at 10.15.1 to 10.15.6 beta2 except 10.15.4.

You have no idea why my system may be slow. I tried this settings In clover: cpu - Freq 3600 Bus speed 100000 boot args busratio=18 (add nullcpupowermanagement.kext)
I tried different frequency's but all the same.
 

svk77

New member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2020
Messages
4
I tried different frequency's but all the same.
Well, he has a different CPU. I have fx8300 and it works for me.
Also, I previously disabled the energy-saving options in the BIOS.
 

jsl2020

Member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2020
Messages
43
Well, he has a different CPU. I have fx8300 and it works for me.
Also, I previously disabled the energy-saving options in the BIOS.
Can you share your config.plist to boot Clover for reference and comparison ?
 

jsl2020

Member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2020
Messages
43
You have no idea why my system may be slow. I tried this settings In clover: cpu - Freq 3600 Bus speed 100000 boot args busratio=18 (add nullcpupowermanagement.kext)
I tried different frequency's but all the same.
Can you try BusSpeedkHz = 100000 FrequencyMHz = 3400 busratio=17 (or 34) to test it again ?
Or attached your config.plist for check if there's any improper setting.
 

jsl2020

Member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2020
Messages
43
Thanks for your prompt reply and help.
Modified my config.plist based upon the difference of ACPI between mine and yours I can boot from 10.15.1 to 10.15.6 beta2 without KP now.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top Bottom
  AdBlock Detected
Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks some useful and important features of our website. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker.