Acer Swift 3. (SF314-42, AMD Ryzen 4500U) Big Sur / Monterey Test

BCBoy1

New member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
May 28, 2020
Messages
29
Good to see you are getting to the installation wizard.

Before trying to install macOS Monterey did you open the Disk Utility tool and format your NVMe drive, APFS + GUID/GPT partition so it is recognised by the installer?

Which NVME drive are you using?

Some NVMe drives don't work in macOS, or can be problematic when they do display in the installer. This is a reasonably common issue on AMD laptops, where the NVMe M.2 drive provided with the laptop has to be replaced before macOS will install.

Western Digital/SanDisk drives tend to work best.
Unfortunately, the drive needs to be replaced.
No SSD drive.
 

Edhawk

Guru
Guru
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
2,200
Which SSD are you currently using?
Are you looking to erase and overwrite what is already on the SSD?

Could be an AHCI SATA issue, did you set your bios to use AHCI drives?
 

BCBoy1

New member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
May 28, 2020
Messages
29
Which SSD are you currently using?
Are you looking to erase and overwrite what is already on the SSD?

Could be an AHCI SATA issue, did you set your bios to use AHCI drives?
SK Hynix BC511 HFM512GDJTNI-82ADA BA
if I looked correctly on the net, this is not supported under MacOS.

There is no AHCI setting, only UEFI at boot
 

Edhawk

Guru
Guru
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
2,200
AHCI setting would be found within the Bios. It would be part of the SATA SSD or HDD setup. But as you are using an NVMe drive it may only be set for a DVD-Rom if your laptop contains one.

I have seen that the SK Hynix PC711 is not supported, I suppose this would carry over to your SK Hynix BC511 drive with regards the inability to install macOS.

Swapping the SK Hynix drive for a WD SN570 or SN770 500GB or 1TB NVMe drive would be a reasonable option with regards running macOS.
Crucial's P3 (older) and P5 drives are also compatible.
 

BCBoy1

New member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
May 28, 2020
Messages
29
Step forward and back.
The OS is having fun.
But there is no keyboard and trackpad either.
USB still waiting for repair.
Along with that, Bluetooth also needs improvement. progress bluetooth resolved
Wifi works.

Another problem is that if I copy OC EFI to the SDD, the windows boot option disappears.
 

Attachments

  • Képernyőfotó 2023-06-09 - 18.43.51.png
    Képernyőfotó 2023-06-09 - 18.43.51.png
    88.8 KB · Views: 14
  • Képernyőfotó 2023-06-09 - 18.53.04.png
    Képernyőfotó 2023-06-09 - 18.53.04.png
    27.1 KB · Views: 13
  • Képernyőfotó 2023-06-09 - 18.53.32.png
    Képernyőfotó 2023-06-09 - 18.53.32.png
    91 KB · Views: 13
  • Képernyőfotó 2023-06-09 - 18.53.51.png
    Képernyőfotó 2023-06-09 - 18.53.51.png
    27.5 KB · Views: 12
  • EFI.zip
    22.3 MB · Views: 14
  • Képernyőfotó 2023-06-09 - 19.14.28.png
    Képernyőfotó 2023-06-09 - 19.14.28.png
    68.3 KB · Views: 12
  • Képernyőfotó 2023-06-09 - 22.12.40.png
    Képernyőfotó 2023-06-09 - 22.12.40.png
    155.7 KB · Views: 11
  • Képernyőfotó 2023-06-09 - 22.13.36.png
    Képernyőfotó 2023-06-09 - 22.13.36.png
    106.2 KB · Views: 14
Last edited:

Edhawk

Guru
Guru
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
2,200
You probably have a folder named 'Microsoft' located on the EFI partition of your SSD. This will be required for the Windows icon to show and work from the OC boot screen.

You need to copy this 'Microsoft' folder to your EFI folder on your USB, so it sits alongside the Boot & OC folders. Then copy the Whole EFI folder from your USB to the EFI partition on your SSD.
 

BCBoy1

New member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
May 28, 2020
Messages
29
You probably have a folder named 'Microsoft' located on the EFI partition of your SSD. This will be required for the Windows icon to show and work from the OC boot screen.

You need to copy this 'Microsoft' folder to your EFI folder on your USB, so it sits alongside the Boot & OC folders. Then copy the Whole EFI folder from your USB to the EFI partition on your SSD.
if I copy it, only windows starts what is the solution to this?
 

BCBoy1

New member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
May 28, 2020
Messages
29
Update:
The system is now working properly, there are still a few settings missing.
For example, it freezes after startup, but if I turn it off and on, it works after 1-2 options.
The USB problem was solved by the following link: https://github.com/RattletraPM/GUX-RyzenXHCIFix
Képernyőfotó 2023-08-09 - 21.35.41.png
 

BCBoy1

New member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
May 28, 2020
Messages
29

Edhawk

Guru
Guru
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
2,200
Do you need to include AMDRadeonX6000Framebuffer.kext in your OC/Kexts folder if you are booting Big Sur?
No you don't need to include that kext in your OC setup.
 
Top Bottom
  AdBlock Detected
Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks some useful and important features of our website. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker.