Welcome to AMD OS X

Why not register now to gain full access.

Help with AMD OS X after installation.
Hi there,

A bit of a Hackintosh noob here, getting up to speed with everything. Have found the community to be a wonderful help in setting my first Hackintosh up, so thanks to everyone so far! :D

Hit a bit of a brick wall with a relatively minor issue, but nevertheless one I'd like to clear up. I have followed the guide at https://kb.hackintoshisfun.ml/clover/ to get a working system. It's very stable, and have been pleasantly surprised how well it functions. As I downloaded build 17G66 (which seems to be a bit of an anomaly), I followed the guide here (https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/inst ... ld.269228/, bottom post of that page) to install the Nvidia web drivers -- these work fine with GPU acceleration.

Sleep didn't work either, but I fixed it with the solution posted here -- viewtopic.php?f=39&t=2875&start=10.

My issue is with kernel_task. For 9 in 10 boot ups, the "process" sits in Activity Monitor with ~68%-~71% CPU "usage" with a crazy high number of "Idle wake ups" (~117,000). I'm pretty stumped at how to address this with my limited knowledge, and am wondering if someone has some insight into what I could need to do.

What I have found: for 1 in 10 boot ups, it works fine, CPU usage is minimal for kernel_task in this scenario. But when I reboot, the problem returns. I also noticed that when I got sleep to work (following the post I linked above), the problem disappears when I wake the computer up (CPU usage drops to 1-2% idling, and the idle wake ups drops to a reasonable number). I can replicate this behaviour 100% of the times I have attempted to do it.