Stuck on AMDCPUSupport :: start trying to init PCI service...

geeinhub

New member
Joined
May 22, 2022
Messages
24
Hello~
I'm new to hackintosh, I tried to Install Monterey on my desktop, my hardware list as below:
CPU: AMD 5600X
MotherBoard: Sapphire Nitro+ B550i
GPU: Sapphire RX 6600XT
SSD: AData S11 Lite 512G
Memory: AData gammix d20 ddr4 3200mhz (8G *2)

I followed dortania's guide to gather files and patched CPU core according to AMD Vanilla OpenCore.

Either boot arg npci=0x2000 or enable Above 4G Decode in BIOS(resize disabled) cannot help... (boot-args : -v keepsyms=1 debug=0x100 alcid=1 agdpmod=pikera npci=0x2000)

Besides, I failed to execute ssdttime on the PC, don't know why...already put latest iasl the 'Script' folder..

Please give me a hand , thanks a lot.
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    35.1 KB · Views: 2
  • 20220607231719.jpg
    20220607231719.jpg
    554.7 KB · Views: 12
  • 20220607231733.jpg
    20220607231733.jpg
    336.9 KB · Views: 8
  • opencore-2022-06-07-225250.txt
    256 KB · Views: 0
Last edited:

Middleman

Active member
Joined
Jan 29, 2021
Messages
423
Hello~
I'm new to hackintosh, I tried to Install Monterey on my desktop, my hardware list as below:
CPU: AMD 5600X
MotherBoard: Sapphire Nitro+ B550i
GPU: Sapphire RX 6600XT
SSD: AData S11 Lite 512G
Memory: AData gammix d20 ddr4 3200mhz (8G *2)

I followed dortania's guide to gather files and patched CPU core according to AMD Vanilla OpenCore.

Either boot arg npci=0x2000 or enable Above 4G Decode in BIOS(resize disabled) cannot help... (boot-args : -v keepsyms=1 debug=0x100 alcid=1 agdpmod=pikera npci=0x2000)

Besides, I failed to execute ssdttime on the PC, don't know why...already put latest iasl the 'Script' folder..

Please give me a hand , thanks a lot.
Hi geeinhub,

Have a look at my build here. It is set up for Monterey 12.3+ 5900X on B550 > https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...-5900x-rx550-samsung-1tb-970-evo-plus.319781/

You will also need to change the Device Properties to this setting for your RX6600. Also need to have the agdpmod=pikera argument in the NVRAM boot-args section (replacing agdpmod=ignore) to activate the card:

Screen Shot 2022-04-09 at 5.17.22 PM.png
 

geeinhub

New member
Joined
May 22, 2022
Messages
24
Hi geeinhub,

Have a look at my build here. It is set up for Monterey 12.3+ 5900X on B550 > https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...-5900x-rx550-samsung-1tb-970-evo-plus.319781/

You will also need to change the Device Properties to this setting for your RX6600. Also need to have the agdpmod=pikera argument in the NVRAM boot-args section (replacing agdpmod=ignore) to activate the card:

View attachment 6015
Hi @Middleman , thanks for your comment, I tried above setting but nothing changed. I also checked the display card's "location path" in windows , it should be 'PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x3,0x1)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)', I used this value but still stuck on 'start trying to init PCI service...',
and 'agdpmod=pikera' already added
 

Attachments

  • device.PNG
    device.PNG
    27.4 KB · Views: 4

Edhawk

Guru
Guru
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
914
I see two issues in your config.plist:
  1. You have failed to edit the AMD patches for your 6-core CPU. There are 3 x patches that need to be edited to correspond with the number of cores in your CPU.
  2. You are using the SMBIOS data for an iMac18,3. This is not suitable for your AMD system, as it expects an IGPU to be present. You should be using the MacPro7,1 SMBIOS to match the type of Apple System that would use an RX 6600XT dGPU.
I have made a number of edits to the config.plist attached below, these include editing the AMD Patches for your CPU. I have not changed the SMBIOS data in the PlatformInfo > Generic section of the config, I will leave that to you. I have removed a number of unnecessary entries, which are specifically Intel related, just to clean up the config and to make is easy to navigate and read.

See if using this revised config.plist helps.
 

Attachments

  • config.plist.zip
    5.4 KB · Views: 6

geeinhub

New member
Joined
May 22, 2022
Messages
24
I see two issues in your config.plist:
  1. You have failed to edit the AMD patches for your 6-core CPU. There are 3 x patches that need to be edited to correspond with the number of cores in your CPU.
  2. You are using the SMBIOS data for an iMac18,3. This is not suitable for your AMD system, as it expects an IGPU to be present. You should be using the MacPro7,1 SMBIOS to match the type of Apple System that would use an RX 6600XT dGPU.
I have made a number of edits to the config.plist attached below, these include editing the AMD Patches for your CPU. I have not changed the SMBIOS data in the PlatformInfo > Generic section of the config, I will leave that to you. I have removed a number of unnecessary entries, which are specifically Intel related, just to clean up the config and to make is easy to navigate and read.

See if using this revised config.plist helps.
Hi @Edhawk , thanks a lot for pointing out my mistakes
1. I misunderstood the patch guide... modifed the wrong 'key'...
2. I didn't realize it, I just ran GemSMBIOS on windows 10, and it tips [iMac18,3], I thought that's it...o_Oo_O
I will study your config.plist, BTW, may I know where can I find more guide to define the proper value of AAPL,slot-name?
 

geeinhub

New member
Joined
May 22, 2022
Messages
24
If you have Windows installed you can follow the OC guide and obtain the AAPL ACPI path (slot-name) from Device Manager. See the link below to a section in the OC ACPI guide. Just use the linked section to confirm the ACPI path.

# Finding the ACPI path for dGPU
hah~ sorry for you poor hardware knowledge, although I've gone through the guide, still don't quite understand many thing..
but I think I have found the rule ,e.g. if a location path is PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1,0x2)/Pci(0x0,0x2)/Pci(0x8,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/Pci(0x7,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0), "AAPL,slot-name" 's value should be [email protected],1,2/0,2/8,0/0,0/7,0/0,0, just take the second number in each slot...
 
Top Bottom