Problems getting a R7 240 to work

edonkey

New member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2022
Messages
16
I'm back again with another and last problem (I hope lmao).

This is my GPU
HWiNFO64_931zsB4MKq.png
I've tried to follow this forum thread and also this one but with no success.
info.png
Using hackintool, I see that the GPU device id isn't changed(?)
tool.png
My config.plist looks like this
device.png
and the ssdt I've used (the path of the graphics card is /PCI0@0/AppleACPIPCI/GPP2@1,3/IOPP/PT02@0,2/IOPP/PT24@4/IOPP/GFX0@0)
Code:
DefinitionBlock ("", "SSDT", 2, "DRTNIA", "AMDGPU", 0x00001000)
{
    External (_SB_.PCI0.GPP2.PT02.PT24, DeviceObj)
    Scope (\_SB_.PCI0.GPP2.PT02.PT24)
    {
        Device (GFX0)
        {
            Name (_ADR, Zero)  // _ADR: Address
        }
    }
}
 

Edhawk

Guru
Guru
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
2,306
In order for anyone to be able to help, you need to provide the following:
  1. Post a copy of the SSDT you created, both disassembled and .aml versions.
  2. Post a copy of the Hackintool > PCIe > Export - pcidevices.plist
  3. Post a copy of your IOReg, use the version attached below.

How to Make a Copy of IOReg (Note 1)
1. IORegistryExplorer/File/Save a Copy As…. (no extension required)
2. Open file to verify (Note 2)
3. Attach to post as a zipped/compressed folder

Installation
1, Open Downloads/IORegistryExplorer-SLRID_v10.6.3
2. Drag IORegistryExplorer to Applications

Notes
1. An IOReg.txt is not useful. It is not a "Copy of IOReg." Do not attach .txt files.
2. IOReg must open the file. If TextEdit opens, See Note 1.
 

Attachments

  • IORegistryExplorer-SLRID_v10.6.3.zip
    272.8 KB · Views: 1

edonkey

New member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2022
Messages
16
Hey sorry for the waiting, I wasn't available, here you go.
 

Attachments

  • all.zip
    514.7 KB · Views: 5

Edhawk

Guru
Guru
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
2,306
I have created an SSDT, which I have attached below. This SSDT-GPU-SPOOF-R7-250X.aml should work with your system to spoof the R7 240 discrete GPU.

Try it in place of the SSDT you are currently using. See if it work.
 

Attachments

  • SSDT-GPU-SPOOF-R7-250X.aml.zip
    1,022 bytes · Views: 21

edonkey

New member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2022
Messages
16
I have created an SSDT, which I have attached below. This SSDT-GPU-SPOOF-R7-250X.aml should work with your system to spoof the R7 240 discrete GPU.

Try it in place of the SSDT you are currently using. See if it work.
Just tried and unfortunately it still does the same thing
 

Edhawk

Guru
Guru
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
2,306
What other ‘fixes’ have you tried?

Did you remove the failed ‘fixes’ when it became apparent they didn’t work?
 

edonkey

New member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2022
Messages
16
This was the ssdt I've used
 

Attachments

  • gpu_spoof.zip
    1.2 KB · Views: 3

Edhawk

Guru
Guru
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
2,306
Are you using the config.plist DeviceProperties entry to spoof the device ID AND the SSDT-GPU-SPOOF.aml?

The two should not be used together, use one or the other not both.

Your IOReg shows two GFX entries. GFX0 and GFX1.
  • GFX0 shows a Radeon R7 250X attached in Slot-1
  • GFX1 shows a Nvidia GTX 1660 attached in Slot-2
Are you using an SSDT-Disable-dGPU.aml for the Nvidia GTX 1660? Is it set correctly to disable the GPU in slot-2?
The ACPI address for the GTX 1660 is (/_SB/PCI0/GPP8/GFX1), its that the address your current SSDT-GPU-DISABLE.aml uses?

Try this SSDT-GPU-SPOOF.aml the ACPI address has been extended to include the GFX0 part of the address, which was missing from both mine and your previous SSDT's. See if that works any better. Remember to remove the DeviceProperties for the GPU spoof when adding this SSDT.

I have also attached an SSDT-GPU-DISABLE.aml, that should disable your Nvidia GPU when running macOS.
 

Attachments

  • SSDT-GPU-SPOOF.aml.zip
    957 bytes · Views: 4
  • SSDT-GPU-DISABLE.aml.zip
    896 bytes · Views: 3

edonkey

New member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2022
Messages
16
Yes I've made an entry in DeviceProperties when I've tried the second solution as you can see in the first post, the 1660 was disabled and that's not a problem fortunately.
I've just tried the new aml you sent and right now in system info it shows the default gpu name as before (yes I've removed the property in config.plist).
sys.png
I'll also send the ssdt for disabling the gpu that I was using.
 

Attachments

  • gpu_disable.zip
    867 bytes · Views: 2

Edhawk

Guru
Guru
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
2,306
Maybe you need to talk to @Cyberdevs he seems to be fairly good with SSDT patching/spoofing etc.
 

Cyberdevs

Donator
Donator
AMD OS X Member
Joined
May 19, 2021
Messages
52
@edonkey
Remove the device properties entry for the GPU and try this SSDT:

P.S.
What is the model of your GPU exactly? I mean which brand?
 

Attachments

  • SSDT-GPU-SPOOF 240.zip
    966 bytes · Views: 7
Last edited:

edonkey

New member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2022
Messages
16
Just tried and nothing changed, I have an oem card from an hp computer I had laying around
 

Cyberdevs

Donator
Donator
AMD OS X Member
Joined
May 19, 2021
Messages
52
It's a little bit tricky since I don't know the exact device ID for your GPU is, I just can't find the best matching fakeID for it so we have to try different options.
 

Attachments

  • SSDT-GPU-SPOOF 240.zip
    824 bytes · Views: 4

Edhawk

Guru
Guru
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
2,306
I think this is a copy of the GPU-Z information for the dGPU

Screenshot 2022-03-14 at 17.03.18.png Ven/Dev ID 0x10026611
 

Cyberdevs

Donator
Donator
AMD OS X Member
Joined
May 19, 2021
Messages
52
ok try this one:
Also add radpg=15 (and -radcodec might not be necessary) under nvram section. Do a nvram reset before booting into macOS by pressing the space bar in OpenCore GUI if the nvram reset isn't available by default.
 

Attachments

  • SSDT-GPU-SPOOF.aml.zip
    831 bytes · Views: 6

edonkey

New member
AMD OS X Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2022
Messages
16
Nope still the same and reset nvram too, also I always had radpg=15
 

Cyberdevs

Donator
Donator
AMD OS X Member
Joined
May 19, 2021
Messages
52
@edonkey
another approach is to add the FakeID under the Device Properties instead of using the SSDT like in this example:
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2022-03-14 at 10.50.17 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2022-03-14 at 10.50.17 PM.png
    905.5 KB · Views: 13
Top Bottom
  AdBlock Detected
Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks some useful and important features of our website. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker.