Convert my Monterey EFI to work with Ventura

joostiphone

New member
Joined
Jun 15, 2022
Messages
18
Hi, my current EFI which works perfectly with MacOS Monterey doesn't seem to work with MacOS Ventura. I've spent several days to get it to work, without success.

Can someone upgrade my EFI to OpenCore 0.8.2 including the required changes for Ventura?

My hardware:
  • PC Case: Fractal Design Define R6 USB-C TG
  • Processor: Intel Core i7 9700K, 9th Gen (Code name: Coffee Lake)
  • Motherboard: Gigabyte Z390 Designare
  • Sound card (onboard): ALC 1220-VB audio controller
  • SSD storage: Crucial Crucial MX500, 1TB
  • Graphic card: AMD RX 6800 XT 16GB
  • Fenvi T919 for WiFi/Bluetooth, AirDrop, Apple Watch Unlock, etc.
  • Power Supply: Be quiet! Dark Power 12 1000W
  • Memory (RAM): Corsair Vengeance LPX (2x 16GB, total 32GB)
  • Display: iiyama G-Master GB3466WQSU-B1 UltraWideScreen, 34 inch.
Many thanks.

Joost
 

Attachments

  • 7-6-2022 17h46 Z390 OC081 Monterey NoSN.zip
    32.9 MB · Views: 29

CaseySJ

Member
Joined
May 10, 2020
Messages
37
Ventura developer beta #2 is out, but not yet on gibMacOS.
 
Last edited:

craighazan

Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2021
Messages
82
Ventura developer beta #2 is out, but not yet on gibMacOS.
Updating now!.

The kext is in fact loading, but it does not appear to be working properly. Even on my Intel Z690 platform with i5-12600K the processor appears as:

3.68 GHz 16-Core Intel
Xeon W

(with "Xeon W" orphaned on the second line)


This looks much better, maybe a little wider.
98773C80-C545-4C62-A60A-07BB5786ED76_share.png
 

joostiphone

New member
Joined
Jun 15, 2022
Messages
18
If I update OpenCore 0.8.2 to the latest build (committed here), how do I make sure that (as per Dortania instructions) I have the associated OpenCanopy file?

Edit: never mind, it's part of the open core package... I was looking in the wrong folder. :censored::geek:
 

craighazan

Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2021
Messages
82
Chuffed that my M.2 E key to PCIe X16 slot is still working!.



 
Last edited:

misterrm

New member
Joined
Oct 27, 2021
Messages
29
Hello guys, i recreated my EFI for the latest release of opencore 0.8.2 and i wanted to start 13.0 Beta 2.0 install but i am stuckat error from image

Could you be able to have a look at my EFI and tell me if i screwed something up? I have updated all the kexts, tried several productNames, added -lilubetaall but no luck at all.

CPU: Ryzen 3900x
MOBO: Aorus X570
RAM: 32GB 3600MHZ
SSD: 980 PRO 512GB
GPU: RX 580



 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    3.9 MB · Views: 9
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Member
Joined
May 10, 2020
Messages
37
Hello guys, i recreated my EFI for the latest release of opencore 0.8.2 and i wanted to start 13.0 Beta 2.0 install but i am stuckat error from image

Could you be able to have a look at my EFI and tell me if i screwed something up? I have updated all the kexts, tried several productNames, added -lilubetaall but no luck at all.

CPU: Ryzen 3900x
MOBO: Aorus X570
RAM: 32GB 3600MHZ
SSD: 980 PRO 512GB
GPU: RX 580
Please try the attached EFI folder, but MLB and ROM must not be empty. If you have another working EFI folder (for Monterey, for example), copy and paste these values from that config.plist into the new config.plist.
Screenshot 2022-06-25 at 10.28.56 AM.png
 

Attachments

  • EFI-misterrm.zip
    2.7 MB · Views: 15

misterrm

New member
Joined
Oct 27, 2021
Messages
29
Please try the attached EFI folder, but MLB and ROM must not be empty. If you have another working EFI folder (for Monterey, for example), copy and paste these values from that config.plist into the new config.plist.
View attachment 6348
deferred rematching count 2
IOG flags 0x3 (0x51)


Thats what i am getting with the EFI you provided. Thank you for help tho.

In the meanwhile i managed to boot into graphical installer, i used iMac19,1 smbios. The other parameters seems to be identical as in the config.plist you provided.

Unfortunately i encountered issue with installer asking for administrator password which i never had on this machine. I created separate thread about it.
 

craighazan

Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2021
Messages
82
Ventura Beta 2 (22A5286j) is showing up in gibMacOS, the previous version, 22A5266r Beta 1 is no longer available, just created my Ventura installer for my A320.

Screenshot 2022-06-26 at 12.36.39 AM.png
 
Last edited:

Shaneee

The AMD Guy
Staff member
Administrator
Joined
Mar 13, 2020
Messages
1,883

shankydilse

New member
Joined
Nov 1, 2021
Messages
2
Hi,

Can you also look at this? Thanks In Advance

Apparently, Ventura wasnt working for me with this EFI. So I ended up using Olarila's EFI Folder and ever since then, system has been buggy and now ventura beta 2 does not shows up as well.

My Specs:
Ryzen 3600
Asus B450M-A
32 GB RAM 3200 MHz
RX 580
Fenvi T919
Biostar SSD 512 GB NVME
 

Attachments

  • 2022-6-15-17-21-56-EFI.zip
    13.4 MB · Views: 6

Wodyfree

New member
Joined
Jun 28, 2022
Messages
2
Hi guys,

Have tried several times to install Ventura, but no success. Stucks in first seconds after reboot. Currently using Monterey 12.4.

Can someone help to convert my EFI for Ventura? Thanks.

My Specs:
Ryzen 5900x
ASUS TUF Gaming B550M-Plus
RX 5600 XT
32 GB RAM 3600 MHz
Crucial P2 1 TB M.2 CT1000P2SSD8
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    25.5 MB · Views: 9
Last edited:

craighazan

Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2021
Messages
82
Hi guys,

Have tried several times to install Ventura, but no success. Stucks in first seconds after reboot. Currently using Monterey 12.4.

Can someone help to convert my EFI for Ventura? Thanks.

My Specs:
Ryzen 5900x
ASUS TUF Gaming B550M-Plus
RX 5600 XT
32 GB RAM 3600 MHz
Crucial P2 1 TB M.2 CT1000P2SSD8
Which version of OpenCore?.
 
Top Bottom