[sovled & sound actually works]Failed at macOS update assistant when installing Monterey

geeinhub

AMD OS X Member
Hi Everyone~,
I tried to install Monterey on my desktop with below hardware config
CPU: AMD Ryzen 5700x
Motherboard: Asus Tuf B550m plus wifi II (ah...my fault, didn't notice the gen II when buying the CPU+Board suite, seems the MT7921 could not work, no driver...)
GPU: Amd RX6600
SSD: Two M2 SSD, I'm installing Monterey on the second SSS which is regarded as external? (maybe this point caused the issue?)
OC: 0.8.0 Debug, my EFI should be OK for installation, however, after first reboot, I got macos update assistant error,
this is my first time to install Monterey (not noticed such assistant when installing Catalina before)
Thanks for any advice.

Attachments

• macos_update_assistant.jpg
    macos_update_assistant.jpg
    239.7 KB · Views: 6
Last edited:

Middleman

AMD OS X Member
Hi Everyone~,
I tried to install Monterey on my desktop with below hardware config
CPU: AMD Ryzen 5700x
Motherboard: Asus Tuf B550m plus wifi II (ah...my fault, didn't notice the gen II when buying the CPU+Board suite, seems the MT7921 could not work, no driver...)
GPU: Amd RX6600
SSD: Two M2 SSD, I'm installing Monterey on the second SSS which is regarded as external? (maybe this point caused the issue?)

OC: 0.8.0 Debug, my EFI should be OK for installation, however, after first reboot, I got macos update assistant error,
this is my first time to install Monterey (not noticed such assistant when installing Catalina before)

Thanks for any advice.
Hi there,

Which version of Monterey are you trying to install? If 12.4 I'd suggest to add AppleReporterDisabler.kext into your kernel list if you haven't already.
Also make sure XHCIPortLimit is disabled and NVMEFix.kext is enabled. I'd also advise to turn on BlacklistAppleUpdate under Misc > Security.