First experience with this. OpenCore guide is not helping me much. -Help

FRZA

AMD OS X Member
Hello, and let me preface this by saying this is my first attempt at this. So I have been trying to use the https://dortania.github.io/OpenCore-Install-Guide/ to get this (hackintosh in general) to work. I was fine up until the parts about the config.plist and GenSMBIOS. Thats where I got really confused. So I ended up finding a premade opensource installation for FX processors and it will not boot. Off hand maybe I did not make it properly bootable? But it has the boot file in the root directory. I am referring to this:
I just copied the EFI files (in the text under the video) instead of going with the one I made during the dortania tutorial because I could not make sense of it. The premade one I got seems to have the same stuff I put in during the tutorial so it should be nearly identical. My main issue is it's not booting to installation when I go to install it still.

CPU: AMD FX-6300
GPU: Radeon R7 200 series

Maybe there's an easier way of doing this now? I need some sage advice and I'm sorry if this seems stupid, I really have tried to find the best way of doing this. I have worked on this for hours.

Thanks!

Edhawk

Guru
Guru
Did you change the core count in the AMD Kernel patches? The FX8350 is an 8-core CPU. Your FX6300 is a 6-core CPU.

The FX6300 system I owned didn’t have a UEFI Bios, it had a Legacy Bios, and required a Legacy Boot entry along with the EFI folder to boot macOS. My FX8350 system has a UEFI Bios.

FRZA

AMD OS X Member
Oh great you have done it on the same processor! Could you tell me how well it performs? Which OS did you use? Is there an easier way than the dortania tutorial? Maybe you could share your EFI folder with me? As I said in my postI am having trouble with the config.plist right now. Very confused!

Thanks!

FRZA

AMD OS X Member